Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Every year I make my little guy a new quilt for his b-day. B turned 3 last August… so I’m a bit late, but very happy to see this quilt turned out just the way I wanted and is finally done. He is really into playing with the letters of his name these days, that’s why I included the little bean bags so that he can try and get the letters in order.

This was the first quilt I designed from scratch having in mind the contemporary look I wanted to accomplish. To me contemporary quilts usually look like the blocks move around when you’re not looking… and I really wanted the blocks to look like they were “in the air”.

I’m so glad I managed to finish it on time for the festival this time. By the way, you will find in the festival lots of very “good looking” quilts. It’s worth a visit!!

Todo ano eu faço uma colcha para o B em seu aniversário. B fez 3 em Agosto, então estou um pouco atrasada… mas muito feliz em ver que a colcha ficou bem como eu queria e está finalmente pronta! Ultimamente ele tem adorado brincar com as letras de seu nome. Por isso inclui os saquinhos de arroz com as letras para ele brincar de organizá-las.

Esta foi a primeira colcha que fiz tendo em mente um look mais contemporâneo. Sempre que vejo uma colcha com elementos mais contemporâneos tenho a impressão de que os blocos se movem quando não estamos olhando… sabe? E queria muito que esta colcha tivesse esse efeito: que os quadrados parecessem estar em movimento – voando.

Fico feliz de tê-la terminado a tempo para o festival. Aliás, vale a visita – lá tem uma colcha mais linda que a outra!

Amy's Creative Side
10 comentários sobre “Blogger’s Quilt Festival

  1. Ficou M-A-R-A-V-I-L-H-O-S-A!!!

    Paty querida, vc arrasou!
    Quando eu crescer quero ser igual a vc.
    Amei tudo: o desenho da colcha, as cores, a ideia do nome dele, o quilt… ficou tudo muito lindo!!!

    Depois de ver sua colcha estou inspirada e já desenhei o projeto da colcha da Sofia.
    Hoje já comprarei os tecidinhos e em breve mostro tudo lá no meu blog…
    Beijinhos em vc e um abraço gostoso no B.

    Curtir

  2. Okay now I’m jelious! I hopped over here after your comment on my post, thank you. I need to get in gear, my little man is one and only has that little quilt and the old one is 4 and has stole the only quilt I made for myself!

    Curtir

  3. Fiquei encantada com o resultado e empolgadísima com a execução de uma manta para meu bebê. Estou grávida e aqui encontrei muita coisa legal!

    Amo passar por aqui.

    Abraços

    Curtir

  4. Such a nice tradition to make your son a quilt every year for his birthday! This is such a fun quilt too– perfect for a little boy! Are those little letter pillows bean-bag toys for him to toss? That’s a great idea!

    Curtir

    • Hi, Sarah! Yes, the bean bags are for him to play with the way he wants. He’s been making towers with them, throwing them up to catch them when they fall and trying to put them in the correct sequence in order to writte his name… Its been really fun.
      Thank you for stopping by.

      Curtir

  5. Pingback: Bloggers’ Quilt Festival « outros retalhos

Os comentários estão desativados.